plonq: (Entertain Me)
Once we decided that we were going to thaw out a couple of the "Beyond Meat" patties we had in the freezer for dinner yesterday (since it looked like it might be our last opportunity to use the grill for some time), I went shopping for buns and other accoutrements. I nabbed a 4-pack of brioche buns, beefsteak tomato and sweet onion for my own burger ([personal profile] atara isn't a fan of much beyond lettuce on her own burgers). As I was heading to the till a niggling bit of curiosity started churning in the back of my head. If this little store carries vegan meat replacements, I wonder if they carry vegan cheese replacements too.

My experiences with vegan cheese in the past have been ... mixed; generally ranging from bad to best forgotten. It had been a few years since my last encounter with it, though, and given how far they have come with meat replacements, I felt it improbable that they'd not made improvements with cheese. I found a small pack of "cheese" slices in a similar format to the Kraft slices, and against my better judgement, I tossed one into the basket with my other groceries.

The first thing I did with the fake cheese was to try an unadulterated slice of it. I set it down next to a slice of processed cheese, and although they were both the same shape and colour, they were easy to tell apart. The fake cheese was like a slice of cheddar rather than processed cheese. It was hard and had clear lines across it from being sliced off of a larger block. In terms of smell - well, it smelled like cheese. If anything, it almost smelled too much like cheese, as if it was trying extra hard.

I tried eating both slices after that. Even ignoring the textural differences, there was no mistaking one for the other. I definitely preferred the flavour of the "real" cheese, but the vegan stuff wasn't bad. If I hadn't known that it was vegan in advance, that probably wouldn't have been my first guess on tasting it. It was mostly something in its aftertaste that just wasn't quite right. It triggered a flavour response that I associate with bitterness, without being overtly bitter. But it was okay - and a far cry better than any of my prior experiences with vegan cheese.

Given its texture, I had reservations about how well it would melt on my burger, but gamely put a slice of regular cheese on [personal profile] atara's burger, and a slice of the vegan one on mine. As I had feared, by the time the processed cheese was nicely moulded to the top of its patty, the fake one still looked pristine. I took the finished burger inside and left mine on the heat for a little longer. After another minute or two, it started to look a bit meltier, but rather than conforming to the shape of the burger, its edges started curving upward. I finally decided that it was done, and I removed it to a plate.

I also flipped the slice of cheese to make it curve downward instead. In spite of looking fairly solid, it was actually very soft when I flipped it, which raised my expectations a bit.

Almost Vegan

Appearances aside, if somebody had given me this burger and not told me that there was anything special about the cheese, it would not have occurred to me that it was a vegetable product. It was good. I'd simply have assumed that it was a slice of cheddar rather than a slice of processed cheese. Although I have no compelling reason to use this product on future burgers, I would have no hesitation about doing so.

I gave it a second trial this morning by making a grilled "cheese" sandwich for breakfast. Since I knew that it needed a bit of extra effort to melt, I gave it some assistance by making the sandwich over low heat, in a frying pan with a lid. Other than using lower heat and covering the pan, I made the sandwich the same way that I usually do. I melted a bit of butter in the frying pan before adding the sandwich and then added a bit more butter when went to flip the sandwich. Then I just turned it a few more times until both sides were toasted to my satisfaction.

When it was adequately browned, I removed it from the pan and was a bit disappointed to see that the cheese overhanging the edges of the sandwich did not look like it had melted at all. As soon as I took my first bite of the sandwich, though, I discovered that appearances can be deceiving. It was thoroughly melted all through. In fact, this sandwich was better than just passable - this was a perfectly cromulent grilled "cheese" sandwich. If somebody had made this for me without any advance warning, I'd have assumed that they used a different brand of cheese than I was used to, but "vegan" probably would not have been my first guess.

[personal profile] atara took a reluctant bite of the sandwich, and declared that other than not quite having the right mouthfeel, it was not really a bad sandwich. Coming from such a grilled cheese snob, that's pretty high praise.

I bought this cheese out of curiosity, and as an experiment. Neither of us has any (current) health reasons to avoid the real product, but I'm pleased with the outcome of this trial. If I ever developed lactose intolerance or came under my doctor's orders to avoid dairy, I think that I could be content using this product. They've managed to cross the threshold into "pretty good" territory.
plonq: (Bork Bork Bork)
Tonight on "Cooking with [personal profile] plonq" ("vegan" chilli edition):

I had not been anticipating the fierce wind and snow when I planned to make chilli today, but I could not have asked for more appropriate weather.

I started off by making a mirepoix (sort of) by coarsely chopping a couple of small yellow onions, two stalks of celery, and one red bell pepper. I tossed that into a pot with some vegetable oil and chopped four cloves of garlic while the veggies sweated a bit.

I let them cook down while I dug out the next couple of ingredients, then scraped the garlic into the pot and let it get to know the other ingredients for a minute or so before I squeezed in the last of our tube of tomato paste, and a teaspoon or so of anchovy paste.

I stirred that for a minute or so to cook the raw flavour off of the tomato paste and then dumped in an unseemly amount of chilli powder, some ground cumin, and about a half-tablespoon of dark cocoa powder. As soon as that was starting to want to stick to the bottom, I reached for the can of tomatoes -- and caught myself just in time.

I'd totally forgotten the "meat".

I fetched the two packages of Impossible ground burger from the fridge and hastily dumped them into the pot along with a splash of more oil. Then I spent the next few minutes stirring it and breaking it up until it was cooked through before I resumed where I'd left off earlier.

Once the "meat" was done, I poured in a large can of chopped, fire-roasted tomatoes, a small tin of chipotle peppers with their sauce, and a large can (drained and rinsed) of red kidney beans. I swished some water into the cans from the tomatoes and peppers and added that but it still seemed a bit dry, so I mixed up about 300ml of vegetable bouillon and stirred that in along with a bit more chilli powder, cumin, and some ground black pepper.

I let everything simmer together for a few minutes before tasting it. Other than adding a few good shakes of hot paprika to give it a bit more punch, I didn't think it needed anything. I'm glad that I didn't add any salt - it got enough from the bouillon.

I think it might have been improved by the addition of a couple of bay leaves, and/or some fine-chopped fresh chilli peppers. But overall, it was good. Paired well with the honey cornbread I made as a side dish.
plonq: (Bork Bork Bork)
Today on Cooking with [personal profile] plonq:

I have been wanting something curried for lunch or dinner for the past week or so, but it didn't fit with any of our meal plans for dinner, and I've been eating mostly leftovers for lunch.

When I was poking around for some lunch ideas today, I started mulling on ideas for a lentil curry when I remembered that we had a couple of chicken thighs in the freezer downstairs. I brought them upstairs, tossed them into a bowl of warm water to thaw a bit, and then started prepping other things.

I rough-chopped half an onion and tossed it into a pot with a tablespoon or so of cooking oil. While that cooked, I fetched a knob of ginger from the fridge and coarsely minced it up, followed by two cloves of garlic. When they were all roughly chopped, I gathered both of them together into a pile and continued chopping them until the onions were cooked enough to be ready for them.

I stirred them in with the onion and then cubed up the still-mostly-frozen chicken thighs. While I waited for those to finish thawing and cook through, I mixed up a cup of warm water with some chicken bullion and a couple tablespoons of powdered coconut milk. Next, I started a second pot on the stove with a cup of water, half a cup of rice, a pinch of salt, and a bit more of the coconut milk powder.

While the rice and chicken cooked, I added a splash of fish sauce to the coconut milk mixture and then started hunting for the red Thai curry paste. Which we don't have. That gave me a moment's pause before I shifted gears and grabbed the Madras curry powder instead. I dumped a good tablespoon of that in with the (now cooked) chicken and stirred it a bit to cook the edge off the curry, then I dropped in two frozen balls of spinach. After a moment or two of waffling, I ended up following the spinach with a good shake of red chilli flakes.

When the spinach was mostly thawed, I stirred in the coconut mixture and let it come to a gentle boil before reducing it to a simmer. I gave it a taste and then tweaked it a bit with about a teaspoon of sugar and two crushed cardamom pods. I was going to toss in some raisins when I spotted the dried cranberries. To my mind, they would accomplish the same function and add a nice bit of colour to the dish.

I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the curry to thicken it up, and then let it simmer on low heat until the rice was done. As soon as the rice was ready, I folded some black sesame seeds and a splash of orange blossom water into it.

I scooped the rice into a bowl, hollowed out the centre, and scooped in about half of the curry (the rest went into the fridge). I garnished it with another shake of chilli flakes, and some fresh parsley from the basement.

Prognosis: this was really good. Mild, and packed with flavour. The cranberries turned out to be a great addition.

Coconut Curried Chicken

On a side note: I will continue cross-posting all of my entries to both Livejournal and Dreamwidth, but given the current situation with Livejournal's owners, I can't guarantee the continued availability that site.

As always, anything you see on LJ is also available on Dreamwidth under the user-name "Plonq"
plonq: (News To Me)
This morning, I had one of those ideas that sounded really good on paper, but that I might have reconsidered if I had done some online research (I haven't done any research, so I can't say for sure if I'd have had second thoughts).

It started innocuously enough with some dried lobster mushrooms reconstituting in about 1½ cups of hot chicken stock. While those soaked, I chopped up the ½ of a red onion I had in the fridge and a clove of garlic. It looked like it needed something more, so I grabbed some of my smoked chicken from the basement freezer and cubed about the same quantity of that as I had of onion. I grabbed about the same amount of frozen peas and set them aside too.

I debated leading off with olive oil, but I didn't want to be in danger of making breakfast too healthy, so I reached for the butter instead and started sauteeing the onions over medium heat. When they were just starting to turn translucent, I dumped in the chicken and fished the mushrooms out of the stock. They were not quite done yet, but I knew they would have time to finish in the quinoa. I tossed them in with the chicken and onions, let them mingle a bit before finally adding the garlic and a bit more butter.

When the garlic was smelling pretty good, I poured ½ cup of red quinoa into the pan and set myself on a course of impending failure. I sprinkled in some chipotle pepper and a good dash of chilli powder, along with a bit of kosher salt. I added a tiny bit more butter and stirred things about until the quinoa started to stick, and a fond started building up on the bottom of the pan. I dumped in the frozen peas to tame things a bit and then deglazed the pan with about ¼ cup of sherry.

Once that had cooked off, I started adding the warm chicken stock a bit at a time, adding more as it cooked down. Because I'd got the idea in my stupid head that I was going to make risotto-style quinoa. I'd purposely made more stock than I would normally need if I had cooked quinoa the proper way, but as I neared the end of the stock, and the quinoa was still pebbly-hard, it dawned on me that I had miscalculated somewhere along the way.

Also, it didn't taste especially good. It had a slightly unpleasant bitterness to it. I added a bit more chipotle and chilli to cover that, and then in an act of desperation, I tossed in a bit of nutmeg. Why nutmeg? I guess I've been watching too many 18th-century cooking shows, and nutmeg seemed to go into everything back then. I figured that at best, it would offset the bitterness, and at worst it couldn't hurt too much.

Once I ran out of stock, I started adding the leftover hot water from the kettle I'd heated for coffee, and then I covered it with a lid to see if I could coax the crunchy quinoa into absorbing some of the liquid. It took a couple more additions of water and another ten minutes, but it eventually cooked down to a pleasing al dente.

I scraped the mixture into a bowl (the peas were all but mush by this point), cleaned the pan, and cracked a couple of eggs into another bit of butter. I hit them with a dash of salt and chipotle pepper and then cooked them covered until they were set up as a good sunny-side-up consistency. I slid them out onto the quinoa and resolved that I was going to eat every last bit of this miserable failure.

This was the best quinoa bowl I've had to date. I credit the nutmeg - it was really astonishing how well it harmonized with the other ingredients. All hints of the earlier bitterness were gone. I give it two begrudging thumbs up because it had no business tasting so good.
plonq: (Meow)
There was a short-lived restaurant downtown that offered quinoa breakfast bowls as one of their breakfast choices. I don't remember everything that went into it, but I recall that it was very good.

In the years since the place closed, I've been intending to try making my own variations on the theme, but it's only recently that I've finally started making the effort.

This morning's fare is simpler than the last one I made, but I think it's a bit better overall. I started by pouring just over a cup of boiling water over some dried oyster mushrooms to reconstitute them. I let them soak while I wandered off with a coffee. When I returned, I poured the warm liquid into a small saucepan and stirred in a bit of beef bullion. I cranked on the flame and added ½ cup of quinoa.

Whilst that cooked, I added some butter to a small, nonstick pan and tossed in ¼ of a minced red onion along with the white end of a scallion. I emptied the reconstituted mushrooms out of the sieve and replaced them with some frozen peas which I ran under hot water long enough to thaw and warm them slightly.

By now the onions were transparent, and the quinoa was nearly done, so I upended the frying pan into the quinoa pot and poured in the warmed peas before covering it again to finish cooking. I added a bit more butter to the pan and cracked in two eggs. I seasoned them with a dash of potassium chloride and chipotle powder before covering them with a lid and letting them cook until the whites were set.

Finally, I stirred together the quinoa mixture and poured it into a bowl. I slid the eggs out of the pan on top - artfully breaking one of the yolks in the process. Finally, I topped it with the oyster mushrooms, scallion greens, and some black sesame seeds. Prognosis: delicious.

[personal profile] atara can correct me if I remember wrong, but this bowl that I've been using lately is from a set that we got as part of a door prize at one of her (former) employer's Christmas parties (or we won it at a wedding social, or it was a Christmas present from one of her siblings). In any event, I just know that it's not something we purchased. But it's a nice set of dishes, and I keep meaning to use it more.

In any event, I started using this bowl because it's a bit shallower than our other bowls, which helps me to limit my portion sizes.

Quinoa
plonq: (Somewhat Pleased Mood)
I was tossing about lunch ideas this morning when it struck me that we still had some chicken kubasa in the fridge that needed to be used. I pondered over a few uses for it and settled on fried rice. This would also give me an opportunity to use up the rest of my dried porcini mushrooms.

I started by measuring a third of a cup of basmati rice into one of our smallest pots and setting it aside to soak in cold water. While that did its thing, I dropped the last handful of dried mushrooms into a measuring cup along with about two-thirds of a cup of water, and a tablespoon or two of mirin. I nuked it for 45 seconds and then set it aside to reconstitute.

About ninety minutes later, I drained the rice and rinsed it a couple of times until the water I poured off was mostly clear, then I strained the mushroom water into the rice and stirred in a little bit of chicken bullion. Then I cooked it in the usual manner. When the rice was done, I uncovered it and let it sit while I worked on the next steps.

I peeled and cubed the last of the kubasa and tossed that into a frying pan with a bit of oil (I wouldn't have bothered with the oil if this had been the pork kubasa, but the chicken one has very little fat). Once the sausage had a headstart, I chopped up the mushrooms and scraped those into the pan to free up the cutting board.

I let those cook for a bit while I chopped up a stalk of celery and the white end of a scallion, adding those when they were ready. I let them fry a time with the sausage while I minced up two cloves of garlic (probably not needed in retrospect given that the sausage has a lot of garlic in it), and an inch or so of ginger.

I stirred those into the pan and then whisked up an egg with some soy sauce mirin. When the garlic and ginger were nice and fragrant, I dumped in a small handful of frozen peas and stirred them around until they thawed. Next, I cleared the centre of the pan and stirred in the egg, cutting and scraping it with a spatula until it was soft-scrambled. I stirred the egg in with the other ingredients and then added the onion greens.

Finally, I splashed in a tiny bit more oil and scraped the cooked rice into the pot along with a good splash each of sesame oil, soy sauce and oyster sauce. From there I just stirred and tossed it (gently, so as not to damage the rice) until it was heated through. I topped it with black sesame seeds when it was done.

Mixing Polish sausage with a more Chinese-style fried rice may sound like an odd fusion, but it worked very well. The fact that garlic was an intrinsic part of this rice anyway worked in its favour. It was a good use of both the sausage and the mushrooms.

Also, the mushroom flavour REALLY came through in this - using the water I soaked them in to make the rice paid off. The rice would have been fine on its own as a dish without being fried and mixed with other things. Definitely worth a repeat if I find myself with leftover kubasa in the future.

Fried Rice
plonq: (Bork Bork Bork)
Today on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq":

Miso potatoes edition.

I heard a passing reference to "butter and miso mashed potatoes" the other day, and I was intrigued enough to try it. We had a couple of potatoes (a russet potato, and a red potato) leftover from dinners this week, and while neither was ideal for mashed potatoes, I figured that I could make them work.

I peeled and cubed the potatoes, tossing them into a pot of salted water while I went and then left that to boil. While the potatoes were cooking, I dropped some butter and olive oil into a small pot over another burner. As I waited for the butter to melt, I peeled three cloves of garlic, smashed them with the heel of my hand, and tossed them in to soften.

I let the garlic cook in the butter/olive oil mixture until the potatoes were ready. I used a slotted spoon to scoop the potatoes out into a bowl, sprinkled in some black pepper, and turned my attention to the other pot again, slicing in the white end of a scallion.

Once the onion had a chance to get acquainted with the other ingredients,I splashed in a couple tablespoons of light cream, and about a tablespoon and a half of white miso paste. I stirred that together over the heat until it was smooth.

I poured the butter mixture into the potatoes and got busy with a masher. When it was almost ready, I sliced in the greens from the onion and finished mixing it together.

Texturally, it was a bit grainy because I used suboptimal potatoes for it, but the flavour was delicious. Three changes I might make for next time: I won't salt the potato water (the miso added enough salt), I will use the right kind of potatoes, and I would probably skip the cream - I don't think it added a lot.
plonq: (Grawky Mood)
Today on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq":

I wanted something that would be fast and easy for lunch today. I started off with the idea of rice and lentils, but by the time I'd finished cutting up an onion, I had changed my mind.

I tossed the cut onions into a small frying pan with olive oil and let them cook while I minced two cloves of garlic. As those cooked, I sprinkled in some powdered ginger to buy time while I contemplated on other ingredients.

I remembered that we have some dried porcini mushrooms, so I grabbed 4-5 of those and snapped them in half, tossing them into the frying pan as I went. I stirred in a couple teaspoons of red Thai curry paste and then dumped in half a cup of basmati rice. By this point, I knew my end game.

I poured in just over a cup of water and then shook in a couple tablespoons of powdered coconut milk. I followed that up with a splash of fish sauce, and a teaspoon of sugar. Once that was all combined, I tossed in two pucks of frozen spinach and put on the lid.

I ended up having to add another half cup of water because the mushrooms soaked up more than I had anticipated, but the final texture was really good.

If I ever do this again (I say "if" because this was very much the product of being low on almost everything) I will skip the sugar and replace it with soy sauce or tamari instead. It was too sweet and would have benefited from more salt. I also think the soy sauce would have gone well with these flavours.

Thai Curry

Pan

Jan. 30th, 2022 12:03 pm
plonq: (Unsympathetic Mood)
Tangentially-related, I made bacon, eggs and cheddar biscuits for breakfast this morning (pictured).

We have a couple of cast-iron pans that I keep forgetting to use, which is a shame because they are always a delight to cook with. I purchased the smaller of the two at a nearby hardware co-op shortly before the start of the pandemic, but the bigger one is a bit of a mystery.

We picked up the second-hand twelve-inch pan at a thrift shop more years ago than either of us care to remember. It looked like it had never been used, and they were selling it for a couple of bucks, so I tossed it into the cart.

The interesting thing about this pan is that it has no markings on it as to where it was made, nor who manufactured it. The underside of the pan has a plain, Canadian-style maple leaf embossed on it, and the handle has the the raised number "12" on it. Other than some protruding bumps to facilitate handling, there are no other markings.

It works great. I just wish I would remember to use it more often.

Cheddar Biscuits
plonq: (Innocent mood)
Today on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq:

Cabbage and lentils edition.

I shredded a quarter of a cabbage and did a quick pickle on half a red onion for our fish tacos last night. This morning I looked at the leftover cabbage and half onion in the fridge and started formulating a plan.

I diced up the onion along with the rest of our fresh ginger, and three cloves of garlic. I melted about 30ml of butter in the Instant Pot with a splash of olive oil to keep it from browning and added the onions once it was all melted. When the onions were nicely sweated, I dumped in the garlic and ginger and stir-fried it until it was wonderfully fragrant.

Since I knew I was going to be adding lentils, I grabbed the cumin seed, turmeric, red pepper flakes and cinnamon. I added a healthy amount of turmeric, a good shake of cumin, a bit too many red pepper flakes, and a light dusting of the cinnamon.

Next, I scraped the leftover shredded cabbage into the mix and let it cook down while I pondered on what to do next. I measured out ½ cup of red lentils and combined 1 cup of hot water with a bit of chicken bullion. I set that aside for a moment so that I could stir in about 30ml of tomato paste and cook off the raw flavour from that.

On a whim, I grabbed a bag of frozen jalapeños from the freezer and diced in the last two remaining from my 2020 harvest.

Finally, I added the lentils and chicken stock. I stirred it all to combine it, and then sealed the pot and set it to cook on high for 11 minutes followed by 10 minutes of natural release.

After giving it a quick taste, I added a pinch of kosher salt and topped it with parsley.

This was really good. I approve. I think it would have benefited from some chopped tomatoes, and in retrospect, I might have served it with a dollop of sour cream (or yoghurt) on top. But it was fine without those.

Cabbage and Lentils
plonq: (Somewhat Pleased Mood)
Today on "Cooking With Plonq":

In this special "using up stuff in the fridge" edition, I present sauerkraut soup. This was inspired by a cooking video we watched yesterday where the host made a cabbage-based soup, and he mentioned that there was a traditional Polish version made with sauerkraut.

We had a couple inches of kielbasa in the fridge left from a dish we made last week, and I had about ½ a jar of vintage sauerkraut that I keep forgetting about at the back of the fridge. I moved the jar to the front of the fridge before I went to bed last night as a reminder, and this morning I ran over a mental check-list of what might go well in a soup.

I started off by coarsely chopping a stalk of celery and a handful of baby carrots. I peeled and cut up the sausage into bite-sized pieces, then tossed the three ingredients into a pot with a bit of olive oil. I sautéed it until the sausage was starting to brown and then dumped in a couple tablespoons of dried red onion flakes.

I shook in about a half-teaspoon of caraway seeds and cooked it a bit longer to give them a hint of toastiness before adding about ½ tsp each of white pepper and sweet paprika and ¼ tsp of dill weed. I followed those with the half-jar of sauerkraut, liquid and all (this stuff did not have a lot of liquid, so I felt pretty safe adding it).

When that was all combined, I stirred in about a teaspoon of chicken bullion paste and then dumped in the remaining ~700ml of water left in the tea kettle after breakfast (I turned on the heat under it when I started on the soup). I followed that up with a bay leaf. Then, once the soup came up to a boil, I turned it down and let it simmer for another fifteen minutes.

I served it with a grind of fresh pepper on the top. It was really good. I know that [personal profile] atara won't eat this, but I'm keeping this one in mind for future reference. When I finished this, I filled a container for the fridge so that I can have it again for lunch tomorrow or Wednesday. While I had the fridge open, I spotted the sour cream, and it occurred to me that it would probably go well with this soup.

There was about half a bowl of soup left after I had packaged up my lunch, so I gave myself another serving and added a good dollop of sour cream. Good call. That pushed it to next-level good. Not as photogenic as the first bowl, but it made up for that in flavour. Two thumbs up.

Sauerkraut Soup
plonq: (Judgmental Mood)
This morning on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq":

We have some ancient quinoa in the back of the cupboard that I decided to dust off for breakfast. It's long expired, but I thought it might still be good. When I gave it the taste/smell test last night it seemed good, but cooking it in this quantity revealed that it's got a slight off-taste. I'll toss the rest and add some to our next grocery order.

I started by throwing a few dried porcini mushrooms into a cup of warm water and letting them soak while I had my first cup of coffee. When they were reconstituted enough, I cut them into quarters. I stirred a bit of chicken bouillon into the mushroom water and then added that to a pot with ½ cup of quinoa, the mushrooms, a minced clove of garlic, and one of the jalapeño peppers from my garden (from the batch I froze a couple of years ago).

I set that on the heat and then thawed some frozen lima beans, frozen kale, and frozen avocado and set them aside. When all of the water had cooked off the quinoa, I covered it and set it aside. While it rested, I spread a couple drops of canola oil into a pan and cracked in an egg. By the time that was done the quinoa was also ready, so I killed the heat and served it all.

I layered it as shown. I was going to finish it with a sprinkle of smoked paprika, but at the last moment I grabbed the chipotle pepper I bought last week and dusted it with that instead.

While I'd have preferred edamame, the lima beans actually worked really well. Since we have them on hand, I'll just use them again the next time I make this. Other than the quinoa being a tiny bit off, this was delicious, and probably a bit healthier than the breakfasts I usually tend to make.

I will definitely do this again.

Quinoa bowl

Mujadara

Jan. 7th, 2022 06:43 pm
plonq: (Just Chillin)
Tonight on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq":

Nothing like some mujadara to warm you on a cold winter's night - or - "we are scraping the bottom of the bin for ingredients; what can we make from this stuff?"

Ideally, this is made from brown lentils rather than green, but it doesn't make a lot of difference once they go into the Instant Pot. I measured out a cup of lentils and covered them with boiling water to soak while I worked on other things. I also rinsed a cup of brown basmati rice and let it soak (in cold water).

The recipe called for shallots, but I substituted a couple of small, yellow onions. I zipped them into thin slices on the mandolin and put them in the pressure cooker to start caramelizing in olive oil while I minced up some garlic cloves and some fresh ginger. The recipe called for powdered ginger, but I substituted fresh ginger and adjusted the quantity up to compensate. The ginger in the fridge needed to be used.

While I waited for the onions, I measured out some cumin, coriander, allspice, cinnamon. and kosher salt into a small bowl. Once the onions looked done, I scooped out about half of them to serve as a garnish and then dumped in the garlic and ginger. I stirred that for a couple of minutes until it was fragrant, then tossed in the spices and mixed it all together, roasting them for a few seconds until they just started to smoke.

At that point, I quickly dumped in three cups of hot water. I mixed that up, scraping up the fond from the bottom of the pot, then drained and added the rice and lentils. The recipe called for lemon zest here, but we don't have any lemons. I pondered on alternatives, and just as I was reaching for the lemon pepper, I suddenly remembered that we have dried kaffir lime leaves. I added two of those and a bay leaf, hoping that they would be adequate substitutes.

I set it to cook on high pressure for 11 minutes and gave it another 10 minutes of natural release time before I opened the vent. Finally, while I was waiting for it to cook, I harvested a bit of fresh parsley from the basement and minced it fine.

The verdict: It was good. Just the thing for a cold winter night. The kaffir lime and bay leaves seemed to fit the bill nicely.

Green Lentils
plonq: (Omgwtf)
Also, I hope everyone has a good new year. May 2022 suck less than 2020 and 2021.

Today on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq": We decided to start out the new year with waffles because that sounded like a reasonable choice.

These are the fancy, yeast-leavened ones that I make on occasion. I changed a few things up this time, but they turned out very good in spite of my efforts.
Here is how you make them the "[personal profile] plonq" way.

1. Add some yeast to warm water with a bit of sugar in it. Let it sit long enough that it's obvious that it's not doing anything other than smell mildly yeasty. While that's failing...

2. Melt some butter in the microwave and measure out two cups of milk (divide it between two measuring cups so that you have room to mix the melted butter into one of them). In the larger cup, stir in a couple tablespoons of sugar, some salt (don't measure - you know how much a teaspoon looks like), and some vanilla (even though the recipe doesn't call for it).

2a. Turn on the oven and warm it up to about 40°c, then turn it off and put the bowl of stagnant yeast into it to try and kick-start the process.

3. Pour the melted butter into the milk and stir. Don't bother to warm up the milk first so that you end up with a measuring cup of cold milk with blobs of coagulated butter floating around in it.

4. Nuke the milk for about a minute to warm it up. Check on the yeast to confirm your suspicions that it's still hasn't activated. Pour the tepid milk and butter into the bowl, stir it together and put it all back in the warm oven.

5. Go sit at your computer for about ten minutes and reassess your desire to make waffles. Stupid waffles. Who starts the new year with waffles? Contemplate on the fact that you accidentally used salted butter, and also added salt, so it's probably your fault if the yeast is dead.

5a. Check on the bowl in the oven. Yup, it's a bowl of sweet, vaguely yeasty-smelling liquid with congealed butter floating on top.

6. Toss the bowl into the microwave for exactly 53 seconds. Eh - feels warm...ish now. And the butter has softened again. Nuke the milk you'd been reserving, and pour it in along with another teaspoon or so of fresh yeast. Put it back in the oven.

7. Go back to your computer and spend another ten minutes or so browsing nothing in particular and trying to come up what a plausible-sounding conspiracy to feed your wife in the morning to explain how you could fail so badly at an otherwise simple recipe.

9. Check on the ... holy yeast explosion. You have angered the yeast and it is trying to escape from the bowl. If you don't get it back under control it might come after you as you sleep. If you'd put the lid on the bowl, it would have been blasted free with enough force to paint it to the top of the oven.

10. Whisk in the flour and cover the bowl with a lid. Leave it on the stove to ferment overnight.

11. The next morning, whisk some baking soda into a couple of eggs and stir that into the now-tamed yeast beast.

12. Make waffles.

New Year Waffles
plonq: (Meow)
This evening on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq": It doesn't look as pretty as some things I've cooked, but the taste was fine.

I put that pomegranate molasses to use this afternoon and whipped up a batch of Persian chicken - but I'll start with the sides.

The salad is cucumber, red onion, Roma tomatoes and parsley with an olive oil/lime dressing. The rice is basmati rice to which I added a bit of turmeric for colour and a splash of rose water at the end for fragrance.

For the chicken, I toasted 8oz of walnuts at 350°F for ten minutes and then let that cool while I cut up a package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I browned those in olive oil and butter while I diced up two medium onions. When the chicken was cooked and lightly browned, I transferred it to a bowl and poured the onions into the pot to cook until they were translucent.

I added the chicken back to the pot and dropped in one of our 2-cup bags of frozen chicken broth. Once that had thawed and come up to a simmer, I covered it and let it simmer for thirty minutes. When the time was almost up, I poured the cooled walnuts into a food processor and chopped them very finely.

Once that was ready, I added it to the pot along with the various spices (cinnamon, salt, pepper, turmeric, sugar, and nutmeg) and five tablespoons of pomegranate molasses. Then I covered it and let it simmer very gently for the next hour.

When there are about ten minutes left on the timer, I tossed together the salad and put the rice on to cook. The last step was to use the back of the spoon to break up some of the chicken thighs to add a bit of body to the sauce. Finally, we served it with pomegranate arils for garnish.

Two things I would change for next time is to let the onion soak in water for a few hours in advance of making the salad, and I think I'd add a pinch of sugar to the salad dressing because it was a bit sourer than I'd have liked. The rice and chicken were both really good.

Persian Chicken

Chilli

Nov. 21st, 2021 05:18 pm
plonq: (Innocent mood)
Tonight on "Cooking With [personal profile] plonq":

I made chilli with cornbread for dinner this afternoon.

On a side note, I did something a bit different with the cornbread this time; I didn't burn it for a change. We both agreed that this tweak to the process was an improvement.

For the chilli, I found a recipe for chipotle pepper chilli as a base and worked from there. It called for onion, garlic and red or green pepper (I used orange), but I also added a couple stalks of diced celery. The latter goes good in chilli, and we had some in the fridge that needed to be used.

Another change I made to the recipe was to drop the meat and add a package each of Beyond Meat and Impossible Burger. The last time I made a chilli with a meat substitute, one package of Beyond wasn't enough and I supplemented it with some texturized vegetable protein. This time, I just added both of the fake meats we had in the freezer and let them fight it out for dominance in the pot.

When I went to add chilli powder and ground cumin, I discovered that we didn't have enough of either for the recipe (I should have checked before we went shopping on Thursday). To compensate, I added the whole can of chipotle chillies instead of the half-can I'd been planning. I also added some powdered cocoa just because.

The recipe would have been vegan, but I was too lazy to go down to the freezer for frozen vegetable stock, and just added some reconstituted beef stock instead. To tell the truth, I think I made the right choice as it added some richness and salt that it would have been lacking.

Other than the usual spices and herbs, it also used some tomato paste, a big can of chopped tomatoes, and some quantity each of canned pinto beans and red kidney beans. The final change I made to the original was to add some cornmeal to thicken it up. I usually do that when I make chilli because I prefer a slightly less soupy base.

It was good - with just enough of a bite from the chipotle peppers to make it interesting. I really liked what those brought to it, and I will definitely be adding them to my next chilli.

Chopped

Biscuits

Nov. 10th, 2021 10:26 am
plonq: (Entertain Me)
Today on "Cooking with Plonq":

When I was out shopping yesterday, I grabbed a carton of buttermilk because I haven't bought that in a very long time. When [personal profile] atara saw it in the fridge this morning, she reasonably asked what I planned to do with it.

So this morning, I showed her.

I started off by cutting two pieces of bacon into small bits and tossing them into a frying pan because that seemed like a reasonable thing to do. While that was rendering, I whisked together flour, salt and baking powder in a shallow bowl.

I chopped up half-a-stick of unsalted butter into ½ inch cubes and cut it into the flour with a pastry cutter (note to self: we need a new cutter). Once it had the right consistency, I put it in the fridge to stay cold, and I measured out just over ½ cup of buttermilk and put that back in the fridge.

When the bacon had rendered down into nice crispy bits, I scooped it out onto a paper towel and set it aside to cool while I dealt with the base biscuits. I took the flour out of the fridge and shredded a couple generous tablespoons of sharp cheddar into it, then stirred in the cooled bacon bits. I put it back in the fridge and set the toaster oven to 400° convection to preheat.

When the oven was up to temperature, I took everything out of the fridge and made a small well in the flour. I poured in the buttermilk, combining it all with a silicone spatula before pouring it out onto the counter. After folding it on itself a few times, I determined that it was a bit too dry, so I added another splash of buttermilk.

I folded it on itself in thirds a few more times until it had all come together, then pressed it out flat and used a round cookie cutter to carve out some biscuits. I managed to get half-a-dozen biscuits out of it in total.

I normally brush the tops of the biscuits with melted butter or buttermilk before putting them in the oven, but given the nature of these ones, I decided to brush the tops with a bit of the residual bacon fat in the pan. The result was as good as I'd hoped - the tops browned up nicely, and the bacon flavour came through subtly.

Two thumbs up. Will keep this recipe on hand for future biscuits.

Sometimes I cook less ambitious things. This was a recent attempt at beans on toast.
Beans on Toast
plonq: (Masturbatory Mood)
Chilly weather is chilli weather (and ten days into not getting above -20C, I think I would classify this weather as a tad ... cool.) When I was at the butcher shop the other day, I grabbed some stew beef with a vague idea of making a pot of chilli with cornbread for dinner this evening. Once I'm done posting this, I'll be heading out to the kitchen to begin work on cornbread.

The last two times that I've made cornbread, I overcooked it - not burning it to the point of being inedible, but too dry, and unpleasantly dark in spots. I usually cook it in our toaster oven because it heats up faster, and because it has a convection setting that gives it a very even heat distribution (saves me having to go out and turn it halfway through cooking).

I always make adjustments for the fan when I cook. I looked it up, and the instructions were to set the temperature 25F lower than you would for cooking in a static oven. I double-checked that this morning to ensure I wasn't misreading, and I realized that I had missed the second half of the instructions. "...and reduce the cooking time by 25%."

I'd already added a hand-written not to the recipe: "Check it after 20 minutes." Apparently, my intuition was pretty good, because the cooking time following the recommendations would be 22½ minutes.

Anyway, I guess I'll find out how that works later this afternoon.

In other news, I've been a bit lax about trimming my beard lately. On the other hand, I have discovered that slapping on a fedora can mean the difference between scruffy and stylin'.
You can dress me up, but...

Is there anything a fedora can't do?
plonq: (Please Sir May I have Some More)
For to make the yummy and crunchy buffalo wings.1
20200805

Wings
1. Buy raw chicken wings. Try to look for wings that have already been removed from the chicken. I purchased mine from a store that sells meat.
2. Prepare the wings by removing three from the package. Consider patting them dry, but don't. Neither should you wash them because that is dumb.
3. Put the wings in a shallow bowl-shaped container. I used a bowl. Sprinkle some cornstarch over them using a small plastic spoon that you assume is clean. Remember after that you probably wanted to add some salt and pepper to the cornstarch before you applied it, so sprinkle some of each over the wings. Then add a bit more cornstarch to cover the bits that you missed the first time.
4. Lay the wings, pretty-side down on the rack of your air fryer and cook them for about 15 minutes at 250 Fahrenheit (394.26 Kelvin)2
5. When the timer goes off3, flip the wings to be pretty-side up and crank the heat to 400 Fahrenheit (204.44 Celsius)4. Cook for an additional 20 minutes.

Helpful Tip: While the wings cook cook3, wash the container in which you tossed the wings in cornstarch so that you have a clean bowl (or bowl-like container) in which to toss them with sauce. [personal profile] plonq is all about not dirtying any more dishes than he must.

Sauce
1. When there is about 4-5 minutes left on the wings 3, add a knob of butter to a small saucepan. How much is a knob? It's an amusing amount. Hee hee. Knob.
2) Put that over low heat and add Frank's Red Hot sauce.5 How much you add depends on how much you like Frank's Red Hot.
3) Add a sploosh of Worcestershire sauce.6 Swirl it all over the heat until the butter has melted and emulsified into the sauce. If it hasn't emulsified then you did something wrong.

Helpful Tip: Don't forget about the wings while you're working on the sauce.3

Assembly
1. Remove the wings from the air fryer using tongs, very large tweezers, or very very quick fingers into the wing container that you washed earlier.7
2. Pour the sauce over the wings. Toss them to coat. Reserve a bit of sauce because you'll inevitable miss a spot or two.
3. Dab the rest of the sauce over the spots that you missed.
4. Enjoy the wings however you enjoy wings, with whatever sides you think are appropriate.

1No buffalo were harmed in the making thereof.
2Or 120 Celsius if you're some kind of Eurotrash. Or Canadian.
3You did remember to set a timer, right? I'm not here to hold your hand. If you forgot, go remove the dry husks that used to be wings from the fryer, toss them in the bin and try again.
4Or 477.59 Kelvin if you're a scientist who can't leave their work behind at the lab. If your air fryer goes hotter than this, turn it as hot as it will go and cook them for 15 minutes.
5Q: Can I substitute another sauce for Frank's? A: No.
6A sploosh is the fluid equivalent of a knob. Most cookbooks should have a conversion table for knobs, splooshes, dollops and the like.
7Whatever - I said I wasn't here to hold your hand. If you didn't wash it, that's your problem. Improvise. Stand there holding the blistering-hot wings in your bare hands and regret your life for all I care.
plonq: (Angsty Mood)
When we were out shopping on the weekend, I grabbed a bag of fake meat and tossed it into the cart. [personal profile] atara started to complain, but I assured her that I had a plan for it.

Today that plan came to fruition as I combined it with some peppers, onions, mushrooms, and a bit of TVP to pad it out. I've never been a huge fan of vegetarian chilli, and I was aiming to fix that. Originally I was making a vegan chilli, but I screwed up and added a bit of white sugar late in the process, so I guess this is technically just a vegetarian dish. If I'd been thinking, I'd have grabbed the agave syrup instead of the sugar. That said, I made this more to prove a point than to make it truly vegan.

20200212

After this initial bowl, I went back and added a bit of corn meal to thicken it, and a bit more salt. Both helped, as did having it simmer for another 20 minutes between bowls. The pictured bowl here was really good, but the second bowl was even better.

In retrospect, I don't think it would have been hurt at all if I'd remembered to add a cinnamon stick, but I think it's fine without.

In other news, I am doing another Picture A Day project this year. Given that I am retired and have little but free time, I've no excuse for missing any days.

I'll make a point to post a few more of them here going forward into the year.

Most of them are boring, indoor shots this time of year:
20200129

But I'm managing to get outside on some of the nicer days:
Squirrel

August 2025

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
171819202122 23
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 05:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios