Justice?

Oct. 8th, 2020 01:22 pm
plonq: (Meow)
I am going to bring up this show again, but only as a prop for discussing some peoples' reactions to it. Obviously there are spoilers here, but I'm guessing that anyone who hasn't seen the show yet, or hasn't seen the big spoiler moment either doesn't care about spoilers, or doesn't plan to watch it anyway.

Season Five was full of moments to make anyone tear up if they had been following since the first season. The last season deals with topics like redemption and reconciliation. Though it is not limited to Catra and Adora, a big part of its story arc is devoted to the rescue and redemption of the former, and the emotional healing of both.

The key part here, though, is redemption.
Catra being rescued from Horde Prime

I read and watched some of the complaints levelled by detractors of the show, and mixed in with the usual mom's basement crowd who took exception to what they saw as the SJW aspects of the show, there is also a fairly vocal crowd who disliked Catra's redemption.
Or Hordak's.
Or Shadow Weaver's.

We'll skip over the latter two for now, since neither of them actually achieved redemption - though one of them died on their own terms (which means she escaped punishment). People are upset that neither of them was shown to face "justice".

On the main topic, though, there are many who do not feel that Catra atoned enough for her crimes, nor even that she was even necessarily redeemable because of the nature of her crimes.

I agree with them only to the point where I'd like to have seen a bit more friction between her and Glimmer, given that it was the cat's earlier actions that ultimately led to the loss of Glimmer's mother. That said...

There is a solid contingent who believe that Catra did not earn her redemption, and that the resistance should not have been so quick to forgive her. They don't feel that she ... suffered enough. Many people struggle with the idea that others may forgive a person that they would not. Not unironically, many of the folks who feel this are the same who believe that they themselves are redeemed because somebody else took the blame for them. Ergo, it is okay for them to be forgiven for ostensibly unforgivable things, but not for others.

I think this may come down to the innate human sense of fairness. Studies have shown that we are not the only creatures that possess a sense of fairness - it seems to be a trait wired into a lot of higher order creatures that live in communal environs. We seem to be hard-wired to favour the zero-sum view of the world, where a gain one place must equate a loss somewhere else. This leads to the birth of adages like, "let the punishment fit the crime." By the "eye for an eye" principle, if the perpetrator of a crime comes out of their punishment with the equivalent two working eyes, then there is an unbalanced ledger.

The problem is that a lot of people in our culture conflate punishment and revenge. More than balancing the sheet, we as a society have fetishized what we think as justice to the point where - even in our religious teachings about divine forgiveness - we accept that eternal torture and damnation are a balanced punishment for somebody who doesn't say "I'm sorry" to God. Look at the images of people celebrating the execution of criminals, holding signs and exulting in the thought that these people will face an eternity of unspeakable suffering and horror. We want people to suffer for their wrongs. We love revenge.

Some of the Scandinavian countries come to mind as places where we seem to be slowly maturing out of that mindset. I watched a video a few years ago where a sheriff from an especially notorious prison in the US was given a tour through a prison in a country where they practise much more progressive justice than we have over here. He was utterly befuddled by the fact that the prisoners lived in conditions that were more like a communal condominium than a prison. He couldn't believe that they were allowed to cook their own meals, with actually steel cutlery. They had a music room, and wood shop, and facilities to learn skills they could use once they were released.

None of the inmates could leave. For all of its amenities, it was still a prison. Their freedom was forfeit for the duration of their stay.

Still, the sheriff could not accept what he was seeing. "This isn't a prison - this is a luxury resort. These people are not being punished. Where's the deterrence factor? Where's the justice?"

They pointed out to him that once they were released, ex convicts in this country had a recidivism rate a fraction of that in the US - specifically in his part of the country. The sheriff was still dissatisfied with their system, even with this revelation. He could not wrap his head around the concept of "correction" over "deterrence". It did not matter to him if the system was churning out reformed citizens if they did not receive adequate punishment for their crimes. The ledger needed to be balanced.

I admit that I can be a little torn about this one as well. On the one hand, I would prefer that our prisons churn out people who can integrate back into society and are unlikely to commit another crime, but at the same time, there are those whose crimes are a bit tougher to forgive. And there are those who are likely beyond reform.

Still, if I was going to make errors in justice, I'd prefer to err on the side of reformation and redemption over revenge and punishment. I prefer to believe that we are better than that as a species.

In short, I am on team Catra. I am siding with the people who are willing to accept her repentance and forgive her sins. I like to think that the detractors who begrudge others for offering what they consider unearned forgiveness, or people like that sheriff who refuse to accept that reformation can be achieved through means other than suffering, are both slowly being pushed out by a more enlightened view.

But I am not very hopeful of that we will see much of shift in the next couple generations. Many of the justice porn warriors are younger folks.

We're just too attached to our internal concept of fairness.

Somebody needs to lose an eye.

Meow

Sep. 25th, 2020 09:44 am
plonq: (Meow)
We've had a fair number vehicles hit by trains in our area lately. It's flat here - you can see the trains coming from a long way off. Winnipeg's traffic management centre released a joint tweet with the CP today to outline ways that one can avoid getting hit by a train. Dad used to be involved with this kind of thing when he was with the railroad, going on the road with Operation Lifesaver to engage with the public on how not to get killed by a train.

Step 1: Don't be on the track.

Really, that's all you need. If people are not bothering to look before driving onto a track, they're the same kind of people who would turn in front of a truck, or hang a left into a lake because of their GPS, and there are not many safety tips that are going to help them.

Also, Cats. I swapped my Facebook avatar to this one yesterday to see if anyone would notice. I've had it set to Nightmare Moon for years, but floofy young Catra was too much for me to resist. I seriously doubt that few, if any of the folks I am mutual friends with on FB even know who this character is.

Retirement is sitting well with me so far. I almost got called back to work this year, but as they were working through the final details of setting up a contract, the pandemic struck. I warned my contact there that I am quickly forgetting everything that would still make me of any value to them if I returned, so my window of usefulness is quickly closing.

That said, getting paid to sit at home has its benefits. I've got more writing done since I retired than I had in some years prior. As I explained to a friend yesterday, that's not so much a function of free time as not having all of my creative energy sucked up by my job.

But retirement - ahhhhh. Here is my plan for today:

Tell some people on Reddit that they are wrong.
Post something to DW/LJ.
Finish my coffee.
Have a shower.
Put on pants.
Walk down to the Vet's office to enquire about a supplement they recommended for Merry.
Stop by the pierogi place on my way home and pick up a dozen potato & cheddar pierogies for dinner.
Stop by the butcher shop and pick up some stuff for the weekend (or pickled herrings if nothing else).
Lunch.
Dinner.
Remove pants.
Raid night.

Being retired has given me more time for photography as well. While I envisioned going on road trips to get pictures, the vast majority of them have either been in or around the house. Still, it's made it a bit easier to stick with the picture-a-day project I took on at the start of the year. The year is 3/4 done, and so far I have not missed a day. This is my fourth kick at the cat for a project like this, so I want to bat 1.000 at least once. Something I did differently this year was to set up a daily reminder in my calendar, so either my computer or my phone nags me starting at 10:00 in the morning. That helps. A lot.

Speaking of pictures, I caught some of the fall colours here yesterday - such as they are in Winnipeg. (Normally I would have put these behind a cut, but I doubt there are many people still on dial-up who would be troubled by the bandwidth).

20200924

Fall

As always, if you are curious to see a literal daily snapshot of how my life is going this year, you can find it on Flickr.

Plonq Snowcat | Flickr

August 2025

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
171819202122 23
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios